My Future, My Work, My Passion!

Important Books and Articles

Given our undergraduate degree is focused within the field of Interdisciplinary Studies; I thought it fitting to include a list of ten books and articles related to several topics. Since I have been researching my topic for our upcoming essay assignment, I am going to include three articles that relate to that essay specifically. The essay I am currently researching is “Why do children with a perceived lower socio-economic status have lower grades within the secondary school system?” and so the three articles below reflect my research.

  1. Socio‐economic Status and Academic Achievement Trajectories from Childhood to

Adolescence (Caro, 2009) This article discusses the age which children begin to become influenced academically by their socio-economic status (SES) in relation to our Canadian democratic society. I will be using this article to highlight the fact that students may be affected negatively within the school system in relation to their SES, and how this is measured.

  1. Summer Learning: Research, Policies, and Programs, edited by Geoffrey D. Borman & Matthew Boulay. This book contains useful information exploring SES in relation to summer upgrading classes and post-secondary grades. I will use just a couple of quotes from this book, as it is not directly related to my thesis.
  2. High School Guidance Counselor Recommendations: The Role of Student Race, Socioeconomic Status, and Academic Performance (Linnehan & Weer, 2011) This is useful for my research article there are a few graphs and charts that I may include regarding students with a perceived lower socioeconomic status and how guidance counselors advise them.

When I initially began my learning plan for Intro to Interdisciplinary Studies I had every intention of adding in courses that would allow me to teach. I have since had a change of heart and wish to eventually pursue a Masters of Counselling Psychology. The next six resources that I am including are in relation to that particular area of study.

  1. Rural Youth need Help in Choosing Occupations. http://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/ED011806.pdfThis bulletin was created for guidance counselors within the secondary school system in an effort to assist them appropriately in choosing careers. Rural youth may face barriers (or simply wish to pursue alternative careers) and I am interested in this topic since I serve a college that is populated by rural and city dwelling students.
  1. A Preliminary Analysis of Counseling Students’ Attitudes Toward Counseling Women and Women of Color: Implications for Cultural Competency Training. By: Ancis, Julie R.; Sanchez-Hucles, Janis V. Journal of Multicultural Counseling & Development. Jan2000, Vol. 28 Issue 1, p16-31. 16p. This article explores and cultural sensitivity and specialized training in regards to counseling diverse populations. Given that I work and live in a diverse province with fabulous ethnicities abound, this article may be important as I educate myself in regards to cultural sensitivity within the field of counseling.
  2. Gender and Infertility: A relational Approach to Counseling Women. http://web.b.ebscohost.com.ezproxy.royalroads.ca/ehost/detail/detail?vid=5&sid=95c95eaf-c914-4bd7-939b bf906287464f%40sessionmgr198&hid=110&bdata=#db=sih&AN=3738540

I found this article to be fascinating and since I plan to eventually change from the Educational to the Mental Health System, Articles such as this will be imperative to my diversity and success.

  1. Counseling Women who want both a Profession and a Family. Janet Dreyfus Gray http://web.b.ebscohost.com.ezproxy.royalroads.ca/ehost/pdfviewer/pdfviewer?sid=95c95eaf-c914-4bd7-939b-bf906287464f%40sessionmgr198&vid=7&hid=110 This articles interests me specifically as it explores coping mechanisms and counseling strategies within this demographic.
  2. Counseling College Students: A Practical Guide for Teachers, Parents, & Counselors by Archer, JR James 1991. 170p. This book outlines the issues and stresses and challenges faced by college students. This book would be interesting as it explores issues deeper than the career related problems I currently deal with.
  3. Counseling College Students: A New Arena for Social Work Practice By: Jones, James A; Donovan, Rebecca. Social Service Review. 1986, Vol. 60 Issue 2, p251-271. 21p. Explores the challenges and techniques used to counsel and support college students.

The final area that I wish to include within my resource list is in relation to College students with Exceptionalities. I would like to be able to transfer into the Durham College Student Accessibility Centre once I have completed my undergraduate degree and will need knowledge specific to this area in order to do so.

  1. How University Counseling Centers Serve Students with Disabilities: A Status Report. By Clairressa J. Goad and John m. Robertson Journal of College Student Psychotherapy. 2000, Vol. 14 Issue 3, p13. 10p. This article tracks how college and university centers are serving students with disabilities. It covers best practices and current technologies.

 

References

Caro, D. H. (2009). Socio‐economic status and academic achievement trajectories from childhood to adolescence. Canadian Journal of Education, 32(3), 560-590. Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com.ezproxy.royalroads.ca/docview/215376532/fulltextPDF/1E8FD724AE3C4F20PQ/1?accountid=8056

Linnehan, F., & Weer, C. H. (2011, march 1). High school guidance counselor recommendations: The role of student race, socioeconomic status and academic performance. Journal of Applied Social Psychology, 41(3), 536-558. http://dx.doi.org/10.1111/j.1559-1816.2011.00725.x

Standard

Leave a Reply

